Yuswak re-elected to Carroll County Board

Michael Yuswak
Michael Yuswak

MOUNT CARROLL – Michael Yuswak will keep his seat on the nine-member Carroll County Board.

The Mount Carroll Republican was re-elected to his District 1 post Nov. 6, defeating Democratic challenger John F. Gloor 827 votes to 642, or 56.3 percent to 43.7 percent, according to unofficial election results.

This was Gloor’s second run for the seat; he was defeated in 2014 by Yuswak, 977 to 765.

In the March 20 primary, Yuswak tallied 515 votes to Gloor’s 319.

District 1 covers mostly rural areas north, west and east of Mount Carroll.

Other county office races, by seat, candidate and unofficial Carroll County vote total, are:

• County Board District 2, Democrat Gary P. Imel, 1,579.

• County Board District 3, Democrat Barbara J. Anderson, 1,499.

• County Clerk and Recorder, Republican Brian Woessner, 5,401.

• Treasurer, Republican Diane L. Powers, 5,347.

• Sheriff, Democrat C. Jeffrey Doran, 5,155.

County Board and administrative offices in Carroll County are for 4-year terms.

Carroll, Jo Daviess and Stephenson County Superintendent of Schools incumbent Republican Aaron Mercier received 5,150 votes from Carroll.

In state races, State Rep. Tony McCombie, R-Savanna, defeated Democrat Joan Padilla of Dixon for the 71st District seat in the Illinois General Assembly. In Carroll County, McCombie received 1,383 votes to Padilla’s 495. Statewide,

In the 89th District Representative race, Republican Andrew S. Chesney of Freeport won the seat against Galena Democrat Nicholas Hyde in a vote of 22,535 to 14,235, according to unofficial election results with 94 percent of precincts reporting by press time.

In Carroll County, Chesney received 2,824 votes to Hyde’s 1,241.

Sen. Neil Anderson, R-Andalusia, was reelected to the 36th District Senate seat over Democrat Gregg Johnson of East Moline, by a vote of 38,643 versus 37,320. In Carroll County, Anderson received 1,101 votes to Johnson’s 750.

Incumbent Congresswoman Cheri Bustos, D-East Moline, was reelected over Republican Bill Fawell of Galena, with 139,461 votes to Fawell’s 86,218.

In Carroll County, Bustos received 3,161 to Fawell’s 2,789

State Senate terms are 4 years; General Assembly and U.S. House terms are 2 years.

Sauk Valley Media reporters Pam Eggemeier, Gavin T. Jensen and Rachel Rodgers contributed to this story.

Loading more