contested local race on Tuesday

MOUNT CARROLL – Only one contested race involving local government will be on the Nov. 6 general election ballot.

In a rematch from 2014, Democrat John F. Gloor of Savanna is looking to unseat Republican Michael Yuswak of Mount Carroll for the District 1 seat on the Carroll County Board. Yuswak replaced retiring Shawn Picolotti in the previous election, having defeated Gloor 977-765.

In the March 20 closed primary, Yuswak garnered 515 votes and Gloor had 319.

Voter turnout for the 2016 general election was 69 percent, according to Carroll County Clerk Brian Woessner, an increase of 20 percent from the 2014 mid-term. Woessner predicts that the turnout for Nov. 6 will be similar to 4 years ago, but there has been an increase of voters within the county.

“The presidential elections stir more interest,” Woessner said. “Although our over all voter turnout has increased slightly, the biggest increase has been with early voting, and more especially from absentee ballot requests.”

Democrat Gary P. Imel of Chadwick, representing District 2, is running opposed. Democrat Barbara J. Anderson of Lake Carroll is running unopposed for the District 3 seat to be vacated by Rod Fritz.

Woessner, Treasurer Diane L. Powers, both Republicans, and Sheriff C. Jeffery Doran, a Democrat, are incumbents running unopposed for their offices. Carroll, Jo Daviess and Stephenson County Superintendent of Schools Aaron Mercier, an incumbent Republican, also is running unopposed.

County Board and administrative offices in Carroll County are for 4-year terms.

Appellate Court Justice Robert D. McLaren of the Second Judicial Circuit and 15th Circuit Court Justices Michael P. Bald and Robert T. Hanson are up for retention. 

Tony McCombie, R-Savanna, is running against Democrat Joan Padilla of Dixon for the 71st District seat in the Illinois General Assembly. Republican Andrew Chesney of Freeport and Democrat Nicholas Hyde of Galena are running for 89th District Representative; that seat is being vacated by 45th District Illinois Senate candidate Brian Stewart, R-Freeport, who is running against Democrat David Simpson of Shabbona to replace the retiring Tim Bivins. Neil Anderson, R-Andalusia, is facing Democrat Gregg Johnson of East Moline for the 36th District Senate seat.

In the 16th United States Congressional District, incumbent Cheri Bustos, D-East Moline, faces Republican Bill Fawell of Galena.

State Senate terms are 4 years; General Assembly and U.S. House terms are 2 years.

In state government races, each for 4-year terms:

• Governor: One-term Republican Gov. Bruce Rauner is facing Democrat JB Pritzker, Libertarian Grayson Kash Jackson, and Conservative Party candidate William “Sam” McCann.

• Secretary of State: Democratic incumbent Jesse White has held the office since 1999. He is running against Libertarian Steve Dutner and Republican Jason Helland.

• Attorney General: Democratic incumbent Lisa Madigan is not seeking reelection. Candidates are Republican Erika Harold, Libertarian Bubba Harsey and Democrat Kwame Raoul.

• Treasurer: One-term Democratic incumbent Mike Frerichs faces Republican Jim Dodge and Libertarian Michael Leheney.

• Comptroller: Democratic incumbent Susana A. Mendoza is seeking a full term after winning a by-election in 2016. She is running against Libertarian Claire Ball and Republican Darlene Senger.

Loading more